Dosakaya pappu / Cucumber dal


Cucumber known as Dosakaya in telugu is a popular vegetable in Andhra Pradesh. Dal is commonly prepared recipe in Indian homes specially telugu.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ingredients :

  1. Tuar daal – 1 cup
  2. Cucumber – 1
  3. Tamarind extract – 3 tsp
  4. Onion – 1/2  small
  5. Garlic flakes – 2
  6. Green chillies – 2
  7. Curry leaves – 1 sprig
  8. Coriander leaves – 2 sprigs
  9. Turmeric – pinch
  10. Red chillie powder – 1  tsp
  11. Salt – as required
  12. Mustard seeds – 1/2 tsp
  13. Cumin seeds – 1/2 tsp
  14. Hing – pinch
  15. Oil  – 2 tsp

Method:

  • Pressure-cook the dhal with at least 2 cups of water for about 4 whistles and keep aside.
  • Peel the skin of cucumber and cut them into medium size pieces.
  • Heat oil in a pan, add mustard seeds, cumin seeds and let them splutter. Then add hing, turmeric powder, green chillies, curry leaves, garlic and saute for few seconds.
  • Now add onions and saute for another 2-3 minutes. Now add cucumber and saute for 5 minutes then add 1/2 cup water, Tamarind extract, red chilli powder, salt and cover with lid. Let it cook well till the cucumber become soft.
  • Now add the cooked dal and mix well. Add water if required and bring it to a boil. Cook till you get the right consistency, remove from fire
  • Garnish with coriander leaves. Serve hot with plain rice or Roti.
2 thoughts on “Dosakaya pappu / Cucumber dal

  1. himabindubollam December 24, 2013 at 2:21 am Reply

    You are welcome. Glad to know that you love my website and recipes.Thanks a lot mehak kashish, your words are so inspiring 🙂

  2. mehak kashish December 19, 2013 at 1:04 am Reply

    excellent piece of information, I had come to know about your website from my friend kavitha, pune,i have read atleast 8 posts of yours by now, and let me tell you, your site gives the best and the most interesting information. This is just the kind of information that i had been looking for, i’m already your rss reader now and i would regularly watch out for the new posts, once again hats off to you! Thanx a lot once again, Regards, dosakaya pachadi

Leave a Reply

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

Holding Back The Furies

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

The Darqueas

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

BinduVasan....

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

Nithya's Nalabagam

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

Sharmis Passions

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

Aayis Recipes

Indian and Konkan authentic home-made Food Recipes passed on from mom to daughter and son for generations

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.