Palak Rice / Spinach Rice


Today I am sharing a simple variety rice recipe. Palak rice – in my Style, which is a very simple and easy. Great to pack for lunch.
Generally I make a lot of rice varieties, b’coz it takes much less time!!! to jump out of kitchen…. 🙂

nl bnl

Ingredients :

  1. Palak/Spinach – 1 bunch
  2. Basmati Rice – 1 cup
  3. Water – 4 cups
  4. Olive oil – 3-4 drops
  5. Onions, chopped – 1/2 small size
  6. Cloves – 2
  7. Bayleaf – 2
  8. Cinnamon – two, 1 inch pieces
  9. Cardamom – 2 pieces
  10. Cashew nuts – 8
  11. Green chillies – 3
  12. Salt – as per taste
  13. Urad dal – 1/2 tbsp
  14. Mustard seeds- 1/2 tbsp
  15. Cumin seeds – 1/2 tbsp
  16. Curry leaves – 1/2 spring
  17. Turmeric powder – pinch

Method :

For Rice :

  • Soak 1 cup rice for 20 minutes in water.
  • In a vessel, add 4 cups water, 1 cinnamon stick, 1 bay leaf, 1 cardamom, 1 clove, salt and  add  little olive oil in boiling water, helps to grains remain separate.
  • Then as water boils add Rice to it and let it half cooked.
  • Drain the water and keep it aside.

For Palak puree :

  • Firstly, take 1 bunch spinach, remove the stem and wash the palak thoroughly in water.
  • Now, Take a vessel, add 1 cup water and bring it to boil.
  • Add washed spinach and let it boil in water for 5-8 min’s.
  • Drain the water.
  • Grind into a processor until smooth puree formed. Keep it aside.

Preparation :

  • On the stove, heat oil in a pan.
  • Add Cinnamon, Cloves, Cardamom and Bay leaves and saute it for min.
  • Add the mustards seeds, cumin seeds, curry leaves, urad dal, cashew nuts, chopped onions and saute it till the onions become soft.
  • Add  green chillies, turmeric powder and palak puree.
  • Fry it until the raw smell disappears and the paste becomes little thick, for about 5 min’s.
  • Add salt and stir it.
  • Add cooked rice and mix well till each grain gets coated with the paste.
  • Cook for 6 min’s. by closing the lid on the pan, on low flame.
  • Serve it with plain curd or raita.

Enjoy!!!!

sb

Note :

  • Do not allow the rice to over cook.
  • I generally does’t use ginger galic in this rice. if u want u can use it.
  • If u want other veg. in this recipe, u can add finely chopped carrots and green peas, before adding palak puree.
  • We can always use coriander leaves for garnishing. I did’t used becoz, in this recipe I prefer not to add them.

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a comment

Violet's Vegan Comics

Funny, exciting and sometimes action-packed vegan-friendly children's comics, stories, picture books and nursery rhymes, FREE TO READ HERE and available in paperback from our bookshop.

Holding Back The Furies

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

The Darqueas

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

BinduVasan....

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

Nithya's Nalabagam

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

Sharmis Passions

straight from my heart,my silly and serious thoughts,feelings and emotions,the true friendships and about people who brightened my life!

Aayi's Recipes

An Indian food blog, home made konkan food and more

WordPress.com News

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.